COUNCIL ON CHIROPRACTIC EDUCATION

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Workgroup (DEIW)

January 2021

Charge: The Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Workgroup (DEIW) is established to study and review the definitions of diversity and inclusion within the hierarchy of higher education and determine whether specific language should be included in the requirements for accreditation for Doctor of Chiropractic degree programs in relation to the *CCE Accreditation Standards*; its charge includes:

- 1) Perform an analysis to determine what systemic barriers exist, as the result of criteria in the CCE Standards, that may limit or impede diversity efforts;
- 2) Review education literature and collect evidence-based citations pertaining to the promotion of diversity, equity and inclusion in higher education;
- 3) Review of other accrediting agency examples of 'diversity, equity and inclusion' criteria contained in their requirements/Standards documents;
- 4) Provide recommendations to the Standards Review Task Force (SRTF) regarding proposed language for inclusion/revision into the *Standards*, with specific rationale for any recommendation;
- 5) Provide final report to the SRTF by March 1, 2022.

The DEIW reports directly to the SRTF Chair, consistent with the standards review process established in CCE Policy 23.

The SRTF is established by the Council Chair to undertake the overall process of *Standards* revision as outlined in CCE Policy 23, *Authority, Responsibility and Action Regarding CCE Standards*. There are multiple opportunities for all constituencies of interest to review drafts of the proposed *Standards* and provide feedback prior to their adoption by the Council. Constituencies of interest include but are not limited to: USDE, CHEA, other accrediting agencies, chiropractic professional organizations, regulatory bodies, and Doctor of Chiropractic degree programs.

Chair: Dr. Kathleen Galligan

Members:

Dr. Quentin Brisco

Dr. William 'Beau' Foshee

Dr. Elizabeth Goulard

Dr. Kelley Humphries

Dr. Claire Johnson

Dr. Keita Vanterpool

Ex-Officio:

Dr. Kristina Petrocco-Napuli, Council Chair

Dr. Craig Little, President